Have a Heart for Kids Day 2020

ELAA Crayon Awards 2021

ELAA logo


This year, the Early Learning Action Alliance recognized 21 lawmakers with Crayon Awards for outstanding leadership in early learning. Their commitment to advancing policies and funding early learning over the last year has been crucial for Washington’s children and families. 
ELAA is a broad coalition of organizations representing a diverse array of Washington nonprofits, professional associations, and businesses. The Alliance is united by the belief that all children in Washington State deserve to have the opportunities and support they need in their first five years of life to be prepared for school and a bright future. 
Crayon Award recipients are leaders and steadfast advocates of championing early learning. Last year, we made historic gains for children and families with the passing of the Fair Start for Kids Act—and policymakers like them are a critical part of this progress. Crayon Awards acknowledge achievements over the last year of policymakers who support investments that are critical to supporting children and families. 

Golden Crayon Awardees:
Senator Claire Wilson
Representative Tana Senn

Crayon Awardees:
Senator Andy Billig
Senator David Frockt 
Senator Joe Nguyen
Senator T'wina Nobles
Senator June Robinson
Senator Christine Rolfes
Representative April Berg
Representative Michelle Caldier 
Representative Lisa Callan
Representative Frank Chopp 
Representative Debra Entenman
Representative Noel Frame
Representative Mia Gregerson 
Representative Kirsten Harris-Talley
Representative Drew MacEwen 
Representative Timm Ormsby 
Representative Sharon Shewmake
Representative My-Linh Thai 
Representative Steve Tharinger