Have a Heart for Kids Day 2020

Legislators Recognized for Drawing the Future for Kids

Anonymous (not verified) 08/23/10


A crowd of children and parents gathered to
honor state leaders from western Washington on Saturday, August 14th at
the first of three Early Learning Action Alliance (ELAA) Crayon Award events organized by the Children’s Alliance.

State legislators were honored for their outstanding work in early
learning during the 2010 legislative session during a stage event emceed
by Representative Eric Pettigrew (37th District) at the Early Learning
Community Fair in Seattle. At the event, six state legislators joined
community members and early learning stakeholders from across the Puget
Sound region to celebrate the importance of early learning in the lives
of Washington’s children and families and to pledge further support of
early learning in the year ahead.

The event was the first in a series of annual ELAA Crayon Awards,
thanking legislators for drawing the future for children. After a
lively awards presentation on the fair’s main stage, legislators and
community members came together for a meet and greet reception at the
Douglass-Truth Public Library.

In all, ELAA plans to recognize 17 legislators across the state.
Awardees were selected for demonstrating support of a broad array of
early learning related issues on the Early Learning Action Alliance
legislative agenda: from advocating for a state-wide, long-term plan
addressing the needs of children ages birth to three, to protecting
funding for early learning programs in times of economic hardship, to
improving the child care subsidy system, and laying the next steps for a
strong Pre-kindergarten system in Washington. Collectively, this group
of legislators understands that children begin learning at birth, and it
is our responsibility to provide all of our state’s youngest learners
with the educational opportunities they need to thrive.

The Seattle event was the first of three awards presentations and
receptions held in coordination with local early learning coalitions
across the state, including the Early Learning Public Library Partnership, the Inland Northwest Alliance for Early Learning, and the Walla Walla Valley Early Learning Coalition.

There are two more events coming up soon:

Community members in the Spokane area are invited to attend the ELAA Crayon Awards in Spokane at the Downtown branch of the Spokane Public Library on Wednesday, August 25th from 5:30pm to 6:30pm.

Community members in the Walla Walla area are invited to attend the ELAA Crayon Awards in Walla Walla at the Washington State Migrant Council-College Place Child Development Center on Tuesday, August 31st from 9:00am to 10:00am.

Gold Crayon Recipients: Senator Lisa Brown, Representative Roger Goodman, Representative Ruth Kagi, Senator Claudia Kauffman

Silver Crayon Recipients: Speaker Frank Chopp, Representative Kathy
Haigh, Representative Larry Haler, Representative Lynn Kessler, Senator
Rosemary McAuliffe, Representative Skip Priest, Senator Debbie Regala,
Representative Mary Helen Roberts, Representative Pat Sullivan,
Representative Maureen Walsh

Bronze Crayon Recipients: Senator Randy Gordon, Representative Marcie Maxwell, Representative Kevin Parker